Timings Of Making Cakes

Business By peeweeontour Updated 2 Sep 2013 , 9:39pm by howsweet

peeweeontour Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
peeweeontour Posted 2 Sep 2013 , 11:37am
post #1 of 7

Hello

I don't have a cake business at the moment, its just a hobby but I am considering starting it as a business (after a lot more practice, I am a newbie) .  I have read a lot about pricing and understand how to do it, but my main issue at the moment is that it takes me SO long to do a cake.  Obviously as I improved I would get quicker (hopefully) but I wanted to have some idea of how long it would take a professional to do a cake so I can estimate if my pricing is totally off or about right.

For example this cake - 8 inch triple layer lemon sponge cake, took me about 10 hours to complete. Is anyone more experienced able to give me an estimate of how long it would take them? 

Thanks in advance

6 replies
as you wish Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
as you wish Posted 2 Sep 2013 , 11:55am
post #2 of 7

AYour cake looks great! Very nice. I would expect to take four hours for a cake lke that one. One hour for mixing up, baking, clean up; two hours for colouring fondant, making decorations; one hour for putting it all together. I might take less time, but four hours is what I would base my price on. You will certainly get faster the more you practice. I think you are off to a great start!

Crazy-Gray Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Crazy-Gray Posted 2 Sep 2013 , 12:13pm
post #3 of 7

I'd say 6 hrs realistically for me but I'd say it was only last year a cake like that would have taken me 10 hours. I think your design is great! The composition is really wonderful :-)

kikiandkyle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kikiandkyle Posted 2 Sep 2013 , 2:57pm
post #4 of 7

AThat's a beautiful cake, I think 4 hours is probably about right too.