Wedding Cake

Decorating By Nickithebaker Updated 17 Sep 2013 , 6:51pm by SystemMod1

Nickithebaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Nickithebaker Posted 22 Aug 2013 , 3:16pm
post #1 of 165

I am a home baker, I have decorated a few Wilton shaped cakes for birthday parties.  My family raves about these, so I was asked to do a wedding cake! (anyone can decorate a cake with a star tip and drop flowers!!)   HELP!! icon_eek.gif   The wedding is 9/14 

I feel like I can do this, with the right direction.  

The bride wants a square stacked cake covered with white fondant.   She wants roses on the cake as decorations.  Pretty simple I think... 

I have never worked with fondant, so I have been Googleing and watching YouTube videos... but I need some live feedback! 

I am going to purchase a Magic Line square cake pan set.   I think I'm going to do a 12", 10" and 8".  

I know I need a support - should I use cardboard or the foam core?  I am seeing debates going both ways.   I am shopping at www.globalsugarart.com  and www.sweetwise.com  ... found both of them through YouTube. 

Oh - here is a big factor - The wedding venue is 60 miles up a winding, BUMPY country road.  Do I assemble the cake at home and drive it up there?   I also have the option of making the whole thing at the venue - there will be a full kitchen, but no internet if I need last minute YouTube help.  

I need to buy almost everything... the only things I have are some Wilton tips and a pastry bag. 

Can anyone recommend tools?