Big Order

Business By liveyloce Updated 21 Aug 2013 , 4:54am by love2bake131

liveyloce Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
liveyloce Posted 19 Aug 2013 , 1:58am
post #1 of 13

Okay...I have a wedding on the 31st to do and it is the largest order I have taken. I know I can do it, it is just the time table that makes me nervous. I was able to do this full time during the summer, but school is starting on Tuesday and I am a full time art teacher. The party wants a small two tiered cake 9in bottom and 6in top, a sheet cake and 500 cup cakes. Question, when can I start baking all of the cakes and cup cakes? How do I store them in the freezer (wrapped etc.) and when should I be able to start frosting and still have them taste fresh and moist on Saturday? Please Help!

12 replies
mjbarbee516 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mjbarbee516 Posted 19 Aug 2013 , 6:11am
post #2 of 13

AI've had cakes survive 24 hours at room temp with nothing but parchment paper over them until I could put the fondant on, then another 24 hours at room temp. They're still as good as they day I baked them. So a total of 48 hours out of the oven. I've read fondant covered cakes on cake plates last 3-4 days at room temp. I've also read you can freeze them wrapped in layers of plastic wrap, just let them thaw to room temp before icing them. Personally, I'd use a thermometer to check the middle, just in case cause I'm careful like that just to make sure the center is thawed. But that's just me. I don't have much luck in general with cupcakes, 1 pan of 12 gives me 12 different consistencies, so I'm not sure about those, sorry.

liveyloce Posted 19 Aug 2013 , 11:12pm
post #3 of 13