Dummy Wedding Cake

Decorating By Nita1856 Updated 19 Aug 2013 , 2:15pm by Nita1856

Nita1856 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Nita1856 Posted 13 Aug 2013 , 3:45am
post #1 of 10

AI have to do a dummy 4 tier wedding cake. I wanted to use buttercream frosting. I need to know how to stack the tiers? With the top tier edible of course ! Do I need to make the bottom tier real cake as well for the bride and groom to cut at the reception.??? PLEASE HELP THE WEDDING IS IN 2 WEEKS

9 replies
Smckinney07 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Smckinney07 Posted 13 Aug 2013 , 3:55am
post #2 of 10

AIf your making 4 tiers, the top tier would probably be pretty small so it should be fine. You can use BC or chocolate to make the tiers stick together or run a dowel through the cake.

Nita1856 Posted 13 Aug 2013 , 4:05am
post #3 of 10

AMaybe I can do a 16" 12" 8" dummy and a 6 inch actual cake? or would that look tacky? Is there any cake pans smaller than 6 inch? You can tell I am new at this :-(

AZCouture Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AZCouture Posted 13 Aug 2013 , 4:08am
post #4 of 10

AOh yes, they go all the way to 1"! Most of my tiered cakes have a 4" or a 5" on top.

Smckinney07 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Smckinney07 Posted 13 Aug 2013 , 5:22am
post #5 of 10

A

Original message sent by AZCouture

Oh yes, they go all the way to 1"! Most of my tiered cakes have a 4" or a 5" on top.

Ditto. I like a smaller tier on top. What are they payin for? I wouldn't make the cake larger, that's extra fondant, extra rolling and decorating...most of the cost is in the decoration, I hope you charged accordingly.

AZCouture Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AZCouture Posted 13 Aug 2013 , 5:52am
post #6 of 10

AWe can't give you an opinion on the serving amounts or anything, because all you've told us is that it's 4 tiers. How many servings of cake do they need? Real cake?

Nita1856 Posted 15 Aug 2013 , 4:40am
post #7 of 10