Need Help !!!

Decorating By Pupsimo Updated 10 Aug 2013 , 4:32pm by Pupsimo

Pupsimo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Pupsimo Posted 9 Aug 2013 , 10:39pm
post #1 of 11

AOkay im a good savoury cook and get also do dessert pies and my brother always asks me to make a carmel shortcake but ive decided to make a cake last week I tried and the sponge came out very dense I didnt understand I followed the recipe to the letter I tried again today it came okay looking good I split it filled it and decorated and when I served it it still looked fine but when I ate it it was still stodgy and not very appealing I couldnt eat it and it was very off puttin so I binned the rest but I really need to know wht im doing wrong as I need to make a cake for tommorow

My recipe is

4eggs 200g self raising flour 200g margarine 200g caster sugar

I whisk my sugar and butter then whish the egg in an then siev and fold in the flour

My cake today the marg was out the fridge and due to it being a large amount of mixture as I made it up to 6eggs quanties I cooked it at gas mark 4 so it would cook through is this where my fault is ??

Any help is appreciated

10 replies
Pupsimo Posted 9 Aug 2013 , 10:44pm
post #2 of 11

AAlso I dont have any baking powder so I need a recipe for airy fluffy cakes with just self raising if possible

Rosegin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rosegin Posted 9 Aug 2013 , 11:43pm
post #3 of 11

AMost cakes have liquid of some sort, usually milk. That would be my guess as to why your cake was so dense.

Stitches Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Stitches Posted 10 Aug 2013 , 1:21am
post #4 of 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pupsimo 
Any help is appreciated

Honestly...........I don't know where you got that recipe and WHY you decided to make it. There would have to be an out of this world photograph of the cake to sell that recipe.