Have You Ever Had Just A 'no-Good-This-Isnt-My-Day' Kind Of Cake Day? Ruined A Wedding.... (Very Long)

Decorating By BAKEdeliciousbc Updated 24 Jul 2013 , 8:13am by vgcea

BAKEdeliciousbc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BAKEdeliciousbc Posted 22 Jul 2013 , 11:38pm
post #1 of 76

First off, this is my first post! I have been scouring all over this site over the past few months...anyway...I'm very very new to wedding cakes. Like, I've made 3. I started with cupcakes and cake truffles/pops, little cakes...and now it's just started to blossom recently.

This last weekend, I had a wedding cake. The bride contacted me on Sunday asking how many days in advance I needed to make a wedding cake. I had her message me privately, and she did. She said her dad had planned on making the cake, but now was not feeling comfortable. The wedding was on Friday. I had her send me a photo of what she was wanting, so she sent me a photo along with a different color she wanted. I assessed, thought, ok, I can do this (I had another cake for that Saturday as well - that one just for a friend, no charge)...I told her we would usually charge per serving, but let's just do $180 (she said she needed about 120 servings). She's like oh wonderful! (P.S. I'm in Chubbuck, Idaho)