Hello From A Newbie (And Loads Of Questions)!

Decorating By AgBaker Updated 24 Jul 2013 , 1:59pm by thelittlecakery

AgBaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AgBaker Posted 21 Jul 2013 , 5:22am
post #1 of 16

Hello all,

I am new in the bakery world and wanted to reach out to all you fellow bakers.   I would like to start off by saying that I am totally floored by the pictures of cakes that I have come across on this website.  You all rock !! I can’t even imagine creating such pretty cakes, and this is why I am posting to get some suggestions from you pros. 

I am a stay at home mom and love to bake but I have NEVER EVER decorated cakes.  Someday I would like to start a home based bakery but I do not know where to begin.  I know that currently I do not have the skills to do so, but how do I become awesome like you guys?  Should I go to a pastry school to learn the skills? Or should I take up Wilton (or any other?) decorating classes.  I mean I just google recipes and follow them-that’s all I can do—how do I advance my skills? 

I contacted LCB and they are starting a new session for pastry and baking next month.  The course seems really good and I am really tempted to sign up.  Would it be worth going to LCB to eventually open a home bakery?

I need all the advice you can offer J

15 replies
morganchampagne Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
morganchampagne Posted 21 Jul 2013 , 5:43am
post #2 of 16

AI'm going to culinary school. But there's TONS of super super talented people here who didnt. To practice decorations. I started with just buying some disposable decorating bags and some decorating tips. Just watching YouTube there's TONS of free videos. 2 years ago I knew nothing and it's amazing what all you can learn just by watching the Internet

Jenna1588 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jenna1588 Posted 21 Jul 2013 , 9:32am
post #3 of 16

AHi, welcome to CC!