How Far In Advance?? Newbie Help!!!

Decorating By Lucy83c Updated 21 Jul 2013 , 4:47am by cakemom007

Lucy83c Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lucy83c Posted 20 Jul 2013 , 3:27am
post #1 of 7

So i know this question has been asked before, however I'm not a professional...I'm just a mom!

My son's birthday will be on a Saturday. I don't have a "cake fridge/freezer" to store the cake in for days. I'm making a simple Monkey cake from a mold with frosting (I'm not sure what kind but i know i need to learn piping pretty quick!)

How far in advance can i make the cake. Would it be ok to make it Friday, refrigerate it and ice on Saturday morning? then should i leave it in the refrigerator until ready to serve or is it ok to be out so everyone can see it?

is there a certain type of frosting that works better for piping?  the cake i want to make is shown below...

last question...I'm going to also make cake pops covered in chocolate/candy melts. Can i make them completely the day before and refrigerate until the party. or do i have to decorate them the day of as well??

thank you so much! and yes....I'm getting help to do this! I'm a great baker....just testing the decorating piece!

6 replies
mermaidcakery Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mermaidcakery Posted 20 Jul 2013 , 5:14am
post #2 of 7