Freezing Decorated Cookies????

Baking By aem1029 Updated 17 Jul 2013 , 3:44pm by aem1029

aem1029 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aem1029 Posted 16 Jul 2013 , 6:21pm
post #1 of 5

Does anyone have experience of freezing decorated (royal iced) sugar cookies?  I have a customer who really wants me to do cookie favors for her childs/husbands combo bday party.  I told her that unfortunately, I cannot do them because the day she needs them is the day I come back from a week long vacation.  She was very disappointed because she LOVES my cookies.  She called me back about an hour later and said she still wants them and doesn't care if I deliver a week before the party.  She asked about freezing the decorated cookie.  I have no knowledge of this because I deliver my product fresh.  I told her I didn't know.  So she asked how they would be if she didn't freeze them.  So I just happen to have an order that I was working on.  I set one aside for 8 days in a airtight container to see if it would still be any good.  It still tasted good, but they were slightly drier.  I'm  not comfortable with this scenario either.  I don't want people at her party to think I make dry cookies and not want to order from me or give me bad reviews.  My business thrives on referrals.  I usually freeze my cookies before I decorate anyway, I like the texture better after they've been frozen, can they be re-frozen after they've been decorated?

4 replies
SecretAgentCakeBaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SecretAgentCakeBaker Posted 16 Jul 2013 , 9:13pm
post #2 of 5

AI made cookies for a party which we had to postpone at the last minute. Each cookie was already in a cellophane bag, so I put them in a freezer bag. We froze for 3 weeks and the cookies were just fine. I took them out of the freezer the night before the party and kept them in the freezer bag to defrost.