Fondant Sweating

Decorating By Chula72 Updated 12 Jul 2013 , 3:02am by KateCoughlin

Chula72 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Chula72 Posted 10 Jul 2013 , 5:21am
post #1 of 12

So i decided to try Satin Ice fondant for the first time. it was hot and humid and it was sweating really bad. My question to myself that maybe someone can help me out with is: "Would my MMF have been sweating the same way?" It was so bad that colors were running into each other and i kept having to wipe with a paper towel. Luckily it was a trial cake for my daughters bday but still curious since i would like to continue to work with Satin Ice versus MMF.

11 replies
KateCoughlin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KateCoughlin Posted 10 Jul 2013 , 7:20pm
post #2 of 12

I've never used Satin Ice before so I can't make an actual comparison.  But I do use MMF and have had similar issues with it still melting.  Humidity is the real threat to all kinds of fondant.  Also beware of cake carriers or other sealing containers that increase moisture levels.

It really depends on what you used the fondant for but here is a summary of my thoughts/advice:

If they are fondant decorations/toppers I try to make them at least a few days in advance so they can set.  Considering a solid fondant figure won't dry completely I sometimes add tylose powder to make it more like gumpaste and aid in hardening.  I've also used marshmallow treats to shape a large object and then wrap that in a thin layer of fondant.  It definitely holds better shape and dries easily - no issues with melting.