How Far In Advance...

Decorating By cindyb06 Updated 1 Aug 2013 , 9:41am by darkchocolate

cindyb06 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cindyb06 Posted 8 Jul 2013 , 5:47pm
post #1 of 8

Hi!

I am looking for answers here since I am a newbie, and I will try to make it short. My youngest son's baptism is on July 27th (Saturday) and I am doing a small birthday party for my oldest son the next day. For the baptism, I want to bake cake pops (60 less or more) with a receipe from Hungry girl (cake mix with a can of cream soda). The only decoration on them will be a cross (I want to use one of those food gel). For the birthday, I want to bake 3 small cakes (I think the pan is 4 inches) and decoration will be the Octonauts.

question 1- how many days before can I bake the cake pops and the 3 small cakes?

question 2- what is the best way the store them until Saturday and Sunday?

question 3- Can I decorate them in advance or should I wait until the day of....

question 4- what will be the best and easier way to decorate the "octonauts" cakes: icing or fondant?

one will be white, one orange and the other one white and black.

question 5- almond paste or marzipan to make the ears and nose of the octonauts?

Lot of question, I know. Some of you might think I won't be able to do everything I want to do, but this is why I want to start early if possible (I am last minute type of person). thank you for your answers

7 replies
darkchocolate Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
darkchocolate Posted 22 Jul 2013 , 2:26pm
post #2 of 8

I have kept my cakeballs in the refrigerator for up to two weeks, if they are well coated.  Meaning there will be no moisture getting out.  I do make my cake balls from cake already baked and add something as a binder.  Old school cake balls - lol