Need Urgent Help!!! Please!

Decorating By YummyBites Updated 5 Jul 2013 , 6:20pm by scrumdiddlycakes

YummyBites Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
YummyBites Posted 5 Jul 2013 , 4:15pm
post #1 of 7

I am a total newbie in this cake world & I sure need help cause I've put myself in a diff one!  I've baked a few cakes, changing the recipe a bit to see if it comes out better.  The cake per so, pardon my ego, it comes out amazingly delicious, but the appearance frustrates me to no end.  The outer edges of the cake seem to sink in.  (please see my little drawing/image).

Here's the recipe I use:

1-french vanilla cake mix

ingredients listed on the box (all at room temperature)

8ozs cream cheese (at room temperature)

1 pkg of vanilla pudding

I spray & flour dust the pan & put parchment paper at the bottom.  The 1st few times I just sprayed the pan. Yesterday I tried the paper & flour, and 1 cake came out perfect but the other didn't (used 6" round wilton pan).

PLEASE!! Is there anyone that could please help me figure out what the problem is? Here's my urgency: a friend's daughter is getting married TOMORROW and they didn't have money for a cake so they asked me to help them.  And I tried baking yesterday like I said, and one came out good but not the other...  I kept it (sealed in plastic wrap in the fridge right now just in case).  But my OCD kicks in and really would like another attempt to see what happens.

I bet is something really simple and silly so please pardon my ignorance. Like I said; total newbie here!!!!

Thanks so much in advance for your help!!!

6 replies
BayBeecakes7 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BayBeecakes7 Posted 5 Jul 2013 , 4:25pm
post #2 of 7

are you leaving them in the pan to cool? i always flip mine out about 5min after they come out of the oven, and they no longer get that indent on the side :) try that

YummyBites Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
YummyBites Posted 5 Jul 2013 , 4:43pm
post #3 of 7