Fire Truck Impossible????

Decorating By kiki25 Updated 25 Jun 2013 , 1:03pm by DeliciousDesserts

kiki25 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kiki25 Posted 25 Jun 2013 , 12:27am
post #1 of 4

I am pretty new to the cake decorating world. My expertise pretty much stops at baking and frosting a cake. The other day my sister was discussing my nephew's upcoming birthday party in October. He decided that he wanted a fire truck theme (he has a serious love the color red). I mentioned that I may be able to help out making a cake. In my head I am thinking a simple two tier cake. It has now grown into a 3D fire engine. Which to me to even be done even remotely correctly involves the proper scale and simple details that makes a fire truck a fire truck. I'm starting to think that I may have bitten off more than I can chew but I a determine that with practice everything can come together.

I just want advice on if I am going in the right direction with my thought process.

-The cake seems simple enough to build with a rectangular cake pan

-I want to try my hand at make a dalmatian puppy and fireman...I thinking modelling chocolate would work better than gum paste

-For the intricate details...gum paste

Am I in the right direction or lost in the woods somewhere?!? Any help would be appreciated.

3 replies
kiki25 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kiki25 Posted 25 Jun 2013 , 12:38pm
post #2 of 4

ABump.....

sixinarow Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sixinarow Posted 25 Jun 2013 , 1:01pm
post #3 of 4

It's going to take more time than what you think...it always does!! icon_smile.gif You can start making the modeling chocolate and gumpaste details months before. I would make ALL the details up ahead of time so the only thing you are concentrating on is the actual cake, carving and covering.