How Long Before The Wedding Can I Make The Cookies???

Baking By EIPHNH Updated 1 Aug 2013 , 10:40am by riandei

EIPHNH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
EIPHNH Posted 12 Jun 2013 , 6:30pm
post #1 of 14

Hello to everybody!

It's my first time to write in cake central forum.

In September it's my sister's wedding. I'm charged with making the wedding cake and wedding cookies (as treats outside the church). Due to the fact i'll have to make a wedding cake for 200 people and cookies for 200 people too, I want to organize my time so that I won't have last minute troubles! Therefore, I'd like to ask you how many days/weeks before the wedding can I make the cookies (just the recipe, without the decorating part), when I can decorate them, and how to store them? I'll make the classic butter cookies.

Thanks in advance!

13 replies
bct806 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bct806 Posted 12 Jun 2013 , 7:30pm
post #2 of 14

I have made cookies 5 days in advance with no trouble. After they cool and are decorated, I put them in an air tight container. Past 5 days, I couldn't say. Here is a thread about freezing them if you want that as an option. Never done it myself, but they seem to have had success with it (freezing the doug or the cookies themselves) http://cakecentral.com/t/633905/cookie-experts-please-help

EIPHNH Posted 12 Jun 2013 , 7:45pm
post #3 of 14

Thanks. I've also made cookies even 1 week before without problem. But I'd like to know if I can make them even earlier (for instance 2 weeks earlier) and put them in the fridge (I don't want to freeze them, I'm not experienced with that)

cookierookie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cookierookie Posted 13 Jun 2013 , 3:44pm
post #4 of 14