Now What?

Business By kandu001 Updated 11 Jun 2013 , 6:42pm by kandu001

kandu001 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kandu001 Posted 11 Jun 2013 , 12:55pm
post #1 of 10

I've decided that I'm going to quit my "real job" and only bake...my passion! 

I have NO idea where to start!  Do I go to the bank and ask for a business loan?  Do I really have to have a perfectly written business plan?  Do I contact the realtor who is leasing the space I want?  I have no clue?

OR...would it be better to just quit my job and try it full time from home without trying a retail store front location?  I live in Florida and they recently have the cottage food law, so that is a possibility too. 

A little background: 

Luckily, I'm a teacher and still getting paid to be off on summer, so I have a paycheck while I also have the time to figure this all out.

My husband has always told me that I should do this, but of course we recently bought a new house and have two little ones to worry about, so I can't be financially without.

My sister, sister-in-law, and cousin are all willing to help (SIL and cousin don't work, so love the idea!)

9 replies
mallorymaid Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mallorymaid Posted 11 Jun 2013 , 1:52pm
post #2 of 10

A completed Business plan is generally a requirement of lenders/investors. A business plan allows for a review of your business idea, strategies and looking at what your objectives are to see if it is feasible. It also helps to answer questions potential lenders will have, such as Why you need the amount requested, how you will use the money, what other sources of finance you have, how you will pay back the money, what is your collateral. It is also a valuable piece of info for you to continue to use to help you grow your business.