Baking Powder / Baking Soda??

Decorating By bonbon desserts Updated 8 Jun 2013 , 7:17am by Relznik

bonbon desserts Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bonbon desserts Posted 7 Jun 2013 , 9:35pm
post #1 of 7

Hi everyone, Happy Friday!

So I have got a little cake business thing going here. and I must admit I am new to this and  I hope to understand the fundamentals of baking so that one day I wont need to read from recipes.

My question is what is the difference of baking soda and baking powder? and why in some recipes do not require both? 

I have this recipe that I use for chocolate cupcakes and they always turn out flat. How do you get those nice domes on cupcakes. I have a 70 cupcake order for 4th of July. oh and while I'm on here, there is one more question for you nice people. I have colored my buttercream once a very dark deep purple and the color was so runny. well it was like it was separating from the buttercream.  Now here  I need to make red, white and blue cupcake frosting, I wont have to worry about the white I know I can manage that lol.

aghhh so many questions hope some good soul can help me today so I can stop all this worrying tonight

thank you, christineicon_smile.gif  

6 replies
cakealicious7 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakealicious7 Posted 7 Jun 2013 , 9:53pm
post #2 of 7

AHi there : ) sorry I can't answer your question about the baking powder/ soda but for the buttercream add a tiny bit of gel colouring,any other colouring it just seems to go funny. Americolor gels are the best for this HTH

bonbon desserts Posted 7 Jun 2013 , 10:06pm
post #3 of 7

hi thank you for responding.

so if I needed to make like a deep red if I use this americolor stuff I would just need a little?