What To Charge?

Business By Chrissymp5331 Updated 4 Jun 2013 , 7:57pm by kikiandkyle

Chrissymp5331 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Chrissymp5331 Posted 3 Jun 2013 , 10:05am
post #1 of 13

I am new here. I am also new to the pricing of cakes. How much would you charge for a 10 and 6 covered in fondant with a fondant lamb on top and a fondant ribbon with a fondant bow and dot's? This cake is for this Sunday the 9th. The last cakes I have done my mom said I was more or less giving away for what I charged :-(  Thanks for any help you can give me. 

12 replies
rdjr Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rdjr Posted 3 Jun 2013 , 4:33pm
post #2 of 13

it really sepends on what your expenses are, there are a ton of forums about pricing her on CC, Where I am. I would charge $115.

rdjr Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rdjr Posted 3 Jun 2013 , 4:33pm
post #3 of 13

Correction*** $165, I forgot that the cakes are covered in fondant.

jason_kraft Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jason_kraft Posted 3 Jun 2013 , 4:37pm
post #4 of 13

ACheck out the Pricing Formula article on my blog (the link is below in my signature).

Chrissymp5331 Posted 3 Jun 2013 , 5:11pm
post #5 of 13

Thank you very much for answering. I figure I am up to about 47.00 just in ingredients for cakes, icing and fondant. This does not include things like crisco, vanilla and oil that are here already. I guess I need to sit down and make a set price chart. I have for the most part always been in the oven room, a little while decorating cakes, but as far as coming up with a price for something... Never have been very good at that. 

Cookie2807 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cookie2807 Posted 3 Jun 2013 , 5:35pm
post #6 of 13

Sometimes it helps when you take the cost of all ingredients x 3 

In your case $ 47.00 x 3 = $ 141.00 plus Taxes ( if you run a business )