How To I Firm Up My Cakes?

Decorating By Hamaranpuu Updated 9 Jun 2013 , 10:48pm by dawnybird

Hamaranpuu Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Hamaranpuu Posted 30 May 2013 , 2:44am
post #1 of 13

I am new to cake decorating and am loving it. My cakes are always nice and moist and people rave about them, but they tend to fall apart as I am cutting them. I have a wedding coming up in a week and a half and I need to know if I am doing anything wrong. I have been using cake boxes as a base for my friends cakes. (becouse I am not doing this as a bisness and its cheaper for my friends and there wedding cakes when its s simple white or chocolat flavor they want.)

I bake the cakes in the morning and let them cool a good long while. Then in the afternoon or evening I dirty frost and let it crust, and then add my last bit of butter cream of fondant depending on what I am doing. Should I maybe be baking the day before I frost? Or freezing them first? Help please!

12 replies
manddi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
manddi Posted 30 May 2013 , 2:58am
post #2 of 13

ATry the wasc recipe.

Hamaranpuu Posted 30 May 2013 , 7:58pm
post #3 of 13

I'm sorry, what is the wasc?

psgodusa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
psgodusa Posted 30 May 2013 , 8:34pm
post #4 of 13

WASC is white almond sour cream cake.. if you search for it under recipes on the cake central site, you will get one.

therealmrsriley Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
therealmrsriley Posted 30 May 2013 , 8:47pm
post #5 of 13

To Hamaranpuu.... when I was brand new to baking cakes, I had the same issue with my cakes falling apart and I quickly learned that if I didn't level the cakes that same thing would happen. Are you cutting off the dome part of your cake before icing and stacking? Just a thought....

Sweet Granny Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sweet Granny Posted 30 May 2013 , 9:37pm
post #6 of 13

Hamaranpuu,