Can You Turn Any Ganache Into A Ganache Buttercream?

Baking By mandsie Updated 25 May 2013 , 2:18pm by yortma

mandsie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mandsie Posted 25 May 2013 , 4:00am
post #1 of 3

Hi all! I'm new to the forum, although I've been studying various threads on here intently for months.. and I'm also fairly new to cake decorating in general! I'm currently working on an engagement cake which is due next weekend. It's for 150 people, I'm making a 3 tiered cake consisting on 12", 10" and 8" rounds with two 3" layers per tier (maybe a little less by the time I level them) for extra servings. I went will all mudcakes; the bottom is dark chocolate, middle is caramel and the top is white. After a few disasters the last of my 6 cakes is finally in the oven. Phew! Not that any of that has anything to do with my query.. but I've decided to go with ganache frosting with the mud cakes because they go so well together. I've read in a lot of instances that people prefer to work with ganache under fondant. I've only ever used buttercream or a buttercream ganache.. I think I'm leaning more towards the buttercream ganache.. for cost more than anything because god only knows how much I've spent on chocolate already..! But I'm wondering if you can use any ganache recipe for 50/50 with buttercream? Sorry for the babble.. should learn to cut to the chase! :)

2 replies
yortma Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
yortma Posted 25 May 2013 , 2:12pm
post #2 of 3