Sizes Of Cake Boards? Not Big Enough?

Decorating By BeesKnees578 Updated 17 Jul 2014 , 12:29pm by CakeMonster14

BeesKnees578 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BeesKnees578 Posted 13 May 2013 , 1:25am
post #1 of 13

I have been making cakes since 2003.  I have run into this all the time and I don't have one clue as to why I am just asking now for a possible solution to my common problem.  I normally just deal with it and hate it every time.  And no, I am not up for cutting my own boards...

This weekend, I had two orders for fondant cakes.  Thankfully they were fondant...because of my cake board.

Sometimes - and I am sure it just depends on the brand that I am using because I sometimes by Sunshine Bakery, Wilton, some other store brand, or my local cake supply shop brand - the board for a 9" cake is JUST the same size as the baked cake with no room left around the edges for icing, or just a touch bigger than the baked cake leaving enough space for a thin layer of icing but the cake shows through, or some are so much bigger it's enough for almost 1/2" of icing all around.  VERY RARELY do I find the right ones that have just the right amount of space all around for a nice coat of buttercream.

Anyone have a tried and true brand that leaves a nice amount of space to use as your icing guide?

Thanks and I hope I explained this correctly??!!

12 replies
bigdad Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bigdad Posted 13 May 2013 , 1:55am
post #2 of 13

I have been buying wilton boards and have no trouble. If your cake is 9" round your board needs to be 11" that gives you 2" and the same with sheet cakes.

jennicake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jennicake Posted 13 May 2013 , 1:58am
post #3 of 13

AI use 10" boards for my 9" cakes. Leaves a good 1/2" on all sides for frosting and fondant

BeesKnees578 Posted 13 May 2013 , 2:01am
post #4 of 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdad