Hello Everyone! What Do You Think?

Decorating By stiffybeans Updated 1 May 2013 , 9:57pm by stiffybeans

stiffybeans Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
stiffybeans Posted 1 May 2013 , 8:05pm
post #1 of 5

Hi, guys! I am another newbie here. After reading tons of information from this site, youtube videos, and other sites, I tried my first real fondant cake. I have been baking for years, but never tried decorating. Thank you for all of the helpful tips and inspirational pics. 

My son, King, had a birthday last week and I made him a King's crown on a pillow. It took about three evenings after work and boy was it time consuming! Despite the trial and error, it was fun.  I used Wilton's fondant, made a cake pop for the top, gel for some of the dots, and sugar gems and ring pops for jewels. The inside was cream cheese pound cake and fudge brownie with buttercream icing. 

Since his bday dinner, a few people have asked me to make decorative cakes for them. I did this because it was for my son (have a 16th bday cake to do for my daughter  for the 19th), I had no intention of selling cakes! There are only a few cake recipes in my arsenal. Plus, I haven't a clue how to price them, but who am I to turn down $$! So I intend to research and practice every chance I get. I'm even making a small, simple graduation cake for my aunt (50 yrs old) who graduates this weekend (she got her BA! Go auntie!). From now on, every family milestone and special occasion will get a cake lol!

Anyway, I had fun and learned a lot from all of you. Just wanted to know what you thought about my first try. So much to learn and I am hoping you guys can help me as well as my being some sort of help to someone else. Have a wonderful week!

4 replies
pursuing_perfection Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pursuing_perfection Posted 1 May 2013 , 8:21pm
post #2 of 5

The CC community is great.