Half Sheetcake (18"x12") Doesn't Fit In The Cake Boxes

Business By JodysJunk Updated 30 Apr 2013 , 11:21pm by Baker_Rose

JodysJunk Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JodysJunk Posted 30 Apr 2013 , 6:30pm
post #1 of 10

Hello,

I'm new to posting in this forum.  I've been using it to read when I need help for some time though.  It is great.  I hope I'm posting my question in the correct location.

Anyhow, when I try to put my half sheetcakes into any brand cake box, the frosting border hits the sides of the box, therefore I cannot use them.  I cannot be the only one this is happening to, but when I Google the problem, I cannot find an answer.  This is the reason I finally "joined" this forum instead of just creepin'.  lol

Thank you!! :o)

P.S.  I'm pretty new to making sheetcakes.

9 replies
AndreasCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AndreasCakes Posted 30 Apr 2013 , 6:47pm
post #2 of 10

I don't do a lot of sheetcakes. Literally maybe 1 or 2 a year. So when I do them, I always buy the single boxes from Michael's, Jo Ann, whatever. I've noticed the same thing, so I just trim my cakes down a little to leave room for the borders.

DeliciousDesserts Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DeliciousDesserts Posted 30 Apr 2013 , 6:49pm
post #3 of 10

AAre you putting the front fold together before or after adding the cake?

This is a bit hard to describe without photos. Usually, cake boxes have flaps that fold into each other. Put the boa together except that front flap. Slide the cake in the box, the.m close & fold the front flap. There's no way to prevent knocking the side if you try to drop it in.

JodysJunk Posted 30 Apr 2013 , 6:58pm
post #4 of 10

Thank you.  That's what I was thinking I should do.  I just feel bad ... like I'm taking away from the customers.

JodysJunk Posted 30 Apr 2013 , 7:00pm
post #5 of 10

I do leave it undone and slide it in. 

Thanks for the reply to my post.

jason_kraft Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile