Buttercream Filling To Sweet.

Decorating By rojoraq Updated 9 May 2013 , 6:50pm by rojoraq

rojoraq Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rojoraq Posted 29 Apr 2013 , 9:35pm
post #1 of 8

Ahi. im new to this page and new to the cake decorating. im trying make a three tied cake for my daughter but have found that the buttercream filling is to sweet. im covering the cake with fondant so i need a tough filling. any help much appriciated.

7 replies
BakingIrene Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BakingIrene Posted 29 Apr 2013 , 11:40pm
post #2 of 8

OK well you seem to be very sure of what you want to use, like a "tough" filling.

There is very little we can do to help you because we don't know which "tough" icing recipe you used.

Most of us make a three tier cake stable by using dowels in each tier, so that cake sits on supports and NOT on cake.  That way we can use ganache and other "soft" materials on the cakes, that tastes less sweet and works OK under fondant.

There are many places on Cake Central that describe how to do this.  Please use the search box at the top, or use google to search for "cake dowel support" and you might find something that you can use.

icer101 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
icer101 Posted 30 Apr 2013 , 3:46am
post #3 of 8