Marketing 101

Business By Stitches Updated 27 Apr 2013 , 12:34am by Stitches

Stitches Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Stitches Posted 25 Apr 2013 , 3:10pm
post #1 of 26

I'll stand up in front of everyone and admit, I really stink at marketing! Here's the thing, I'm a pastry chef/cake decorator and basically a shy person in social situations. I'd love help on how to market my work better. I don't have a lot of friends (only a few really good ones), I don't meet people socially because I don't do things socially. I don't have children so I didn't meet neighbors or parents of my children. My relatives live far way, they can't refer people to me.

I signed up for weddingwire.com and I barely show up. If a bride does a search for wedding cakes in my area, I don't even come up. There's bakeries miles and miles away that show up. I know it would help if I had a bunch of brides who wrote review for me. But my average clients doesn't even know that I made their cake because I really only do wholesale and that's WHY I'm trying to market myself to gain retail brides.

Quote:
As an example, using ArcGIS I was able to find a census tract (IL 170318042.01, near Crabtree Forest Preserve in Barrington) about 15 miles from Crystal Lake that has 566 households with an annual income over $250K. With some research you should be able to find dozens of similar areas to serve as a base for marketing high quality custom cakes

Jason made those remarks to me in another thread, to assist me. To some extent I reveal only so much here online but he tracked down where I really live. That's o.k. I have nothing to hide. I do live near wealthy towns, there are people in my town that are wealthy. BUT I just can't figure out how to get them.