Frustrated

Business By EvArt Updated 2 May 2013 , 7:15pm by MariaK38

EvArt Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
EvArt Posted 24 Apr 2013 , 4:09pm
post #1 of 54

I am a self taught cake designer making special occasion cakes from my home.  When people ask me how much I would charge for a cake before figuring out the number of servings and what all would go into actually making what they are asking for, I always tell them that my cakes will cost more than the grocery store cookie cutter cakes and less than an upscale bakery.  I always strive for a good tasting cake as well as pretty to look at.  Why bother doing this if the cake doesn't taste good, right?  I am very conscientious about how much I charge for anything I make, often undercharging myself. My problem is that people are wanting the specialty cakes at grocery store prices.  I had a lady call me and ask how much to make 250 cupcakes, for her daughters wedding.  I quoted her $300 for 250 cupcakes simply frosted; the price of supplies and boxes to transport them. Making them a whopping $1.20 ea.!!  She turned me down for Walmart. Another sent me a pic of a really cute stacked (8", 6" x 4" and small half ball pan) pirate cake using a lot of fondant work.  She turned me down when I quoted her $150.  Another is insistent that I make her grand children's birthday cakes next month, and she wants them to be "special", but she doesn't want to pay more than $40!!  As a rule of thumb, trying to be fair to both myself and the customer, I usually take the cost of my supplies and double it for the price of my cakes. It doesn't always equal out fairly for myself.  If anyone is going to benefit from the deal it's always my customer. I've found that I get more business when I am actually making cakes and post or share the pictures. Then other people see my cakes and ask if I would make them one for their special occasion. Knowing this, I have done a few cakes for the cost of supplies just so that I can share what I am doing