Need Difficulty Level Before I Commit

Decorating By nancylee61 Updated 24 Apr 2013 , 12:19am by nancylee61

nancylee61 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nancylee61 Posted 23 Apr 2013 , 4:50pm
post #1 of 7

Hi all,

I have been baking for many years, but haven't do so professionally. icon_biggrin.gif I am experienced with buttercream frosting, but a friend asked me to make a two tier cake for her birthday in fondant. I am gifting it to her. I have never used fondant before. I am going to go buy some at AC Moore today and play with it, but how hard is it to use? Can a newbie to fondant make a good looking cake? (I know about the taste issue, but she doesn't care, she wants fondant and that's that!)

Any advice you can share would be much appreciated, such as easiest to use, or make myself. I would try to make the marshmellow fondant, as I read it has a decent taste, but I also read it is harder to handle. This is the kind of info I am hoping to get - and thank you very much!!
Nancy

6 replies
sixinarow Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sixinarow Posted 23 Apr 2013 , 11:10pm
post #2 of 7

I've only ever used marshmallow fondant. The only time I have a hard time handling it is when I don't let it rest overnight. I also roll it out on cornstarch instead of powdered sugar to help stiffen it. Here's a picture of my first fondant cake...you can see the "lumpy" appearance of the fondant and I had to cover some trouble spots with decorations. I cringe now when I see the fondant work, but it was for my little guy's first bday, not a paying customer. The key with fondant is practice, practice, practice. Watch youtube videos and practice some more. There's really no substitue when working with fondant then just good, old hands-on experience.

www.thecrumbcoat.wordpress.com