Do You Sell Cakes Like Publix's Decadent Desserts?

Business By mystsparkle Updated 31 Dec 2013 , 2:53am by shaloop

mystsparkle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mystsparkle Posted 19 Apr 2013 , 10:55pm
post #1 of 22

For anyone who'd like to chime in - I'm a home baker, and as of now all the cakes I've done have been themed fondant/buttercream cakes -  But was wondering if anyone out there sells cakes like the ones pictured in this link?  I'm  not positive if there would even be a market here for it - But sometimes I wonder if people would want to purchase a dessert like this for a more standard get together - holiday - etc....  Any thoughts?

Thanks!

http://www.publix.com/food/catalog/Bakery/DecadentDesserts/Home.do

21 replies
IAmPamCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
IAmPamCakes Posted 19 Apr 2013 , 11:14pm
post #2 of 22

AI sell baked goods in general. I don't have a lot of orders, as I am just starting out publicly, but there is a market for these 'everyday' desserts.

DeliciousDesserts Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DeliciousDesserts Posted 19 Apr 2013 , 11:35pm
post #3 of 22

AYes & no. I do something similar. My cakes are all 4 layers. I do a carrot, caramel, death by chocolate, & peanut butter.

I was VERY successful at Valentnes with a cake for 2. It was a 6" 2 layer with chocolate ganache decorated for Valentines. Sold 16 in one day. For a cottage food law baker, that's a lot!

DeliciousDesserts Posted 19 Apr 2013 , 11:36pm
post #4 of 22

AWanted to add...these are most successful at hokidays.

Pyro Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Pyro Posted 20 Apr 2013 , 4:34am
post #5 of 22

Everyday production cakes. I used to knock thousands a week. Mid to low quality. Most are covered with nuts, cake crumbs, chocolate bits or shavings because that takes 5 seconds if it's frozen. You have absolutely no need to do a nice coverage with the buttercream / frosting before you apply. It hides a lot of the flaws, powdered sugar on top does the same.