Character Cakes And Copyright

Business By Beckey Barton Updated 19 Apr 2013 , 12:20am by Beckey Barton

Beckey Barton Posted 18 Apr 2013 , 10:25am
post #1 of 3

I am new to doing cakes as a business. I started up as people kept telling me how great my cakes were and that I should sell them. So, after my husband and I were made redundant I thought I'd give it a go!

I have recently heard that we are not allowed to make cakes of any image that is copyrighted. Could anyone give me some advice on this as there seem to be a host of pictures out there of cakes of copyrighted images (including on this site!).

I don't want to be sued or shut down but equally, I know that a lot of people out there ask for cakes with replicas of something on. Ones I have done so far (luckily not for paying clients) include: Mickey Mouse, Rapunzel, Iggle Piggle, the London 2012 logo, and Football team badges/ coat of arms.

Am I allowed to display images on my website of ones I have made for my own family (ie not charged for) to demonstrate my level of ability and precision, or is it a complete ban? How strict is it? and, if it helps, I am in the United Kingdom.

2 replies
kikiandkyle Posted 18 Apr 2013 , 12:14pm
post #2 of 3

If you put the cakes on your website then tell clients they can't order them you're going to have a hard time explaining why, at least to their satisfaction. 

The rule is you can't sell anything that would have people believe it's representing a licensed character or image, at least not without permission. There are licensed decorating images you can buy, and you can also make a cake without the characters and have your clients place toys in that image on the cake if they so wish.