Uk Bakers Thinking Of Starting A Home Business

Business By Embles Updated 9 May 2013 , 2:07pm by Crazy-Gray

Embles Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Embles Posted 2 Apr 2013 , 2:39pm
post #1 of 27

AThought I would post to share my start up story. I started in the usual way gifting cakes to work and friends offering to make things I wanted to make but for free and gradually I started getting specific requests and occasionally from friends of friends. I got a massive amount of joy from making cakes and love looking ar new techniques etc. I work in insurance and get paid well however cannot work full time because of childcare costs which are riduculous and wanted to supplement my income with cakes. I do not want to give up my day job because it gives me security but I did want the best of both worlds I still experience slow periods (and really busy ones, thank goodness) but my carrying on my day job I dont need to panic too much if the cakes go quiet for a bit. I contacted the tax office and registered as a business for self assessment (this took 10 mins over the phone..scary..) and contacted my local council to get the health inspector round. I scrubbed everything in my kitchen read through the online guidelines about storage, ventilation, waste disposal etc and also wrote up my guidelines. This included risk management ie how I make sure my food is used while fresh, my own personal procedures like tying up my hair washing hands and how I pack and transport my cakes to stop cross contamination, these are hand written and kept in a lever arch folder in my cupboard. I passed the inspection and because of the food I supply and how often I was given a low risk rating which includes an inspection every 3 years. Ive been running for a couple of years now and the council and inspector were so lovely and continue to be. My advice is if you are ready and can provide a service do it properly its mega rewarding and you have piece of mind too. Dont forget your business use o