How Do I Keep It Fun??

Decorating By soldiernurse Updated 5 Apr 2013 , 5:50am by ScubaShazz

soldiernurse Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
soldiernurse Posted 2 Apr 2013 , 1:57pm
post #1 of 7

I'm currently a hobby-only cake baker, but was toying with the idea of going into business. I'm apprehensive about doing so because of the freedom I have right now..I do it when I want to and if I want to..unless I'm baking one for friends/family bday--right now it's fun and I enjoy it...just scared if I start a business of selling cakes, it won't be fun anymore. Please share some of your experiences and tips. I need to hear from the pros!!

6 replies
Norasmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Norasmom Posted 2 Apr 2013 , 5:35pm
post #2 of 7

I only bake cakes when I choose to.  I don't advertise heavily and no weddings.  You can start small and go from there.  i only have a facebook page.  Supplies are expensive but I bought them as I went along.  I am not making a ton of money, but I am making a profit off of each cake I bake.  So since I enjoyed baking cakes I decided I might as well make a little money doing it.

tracyaem Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tracyaem Posted 2 Apr 2013 , 5:45pm
post #3 of 7

Exactly what Norasmom said!

Fortunately this is not my full-time job or main source of income so I have a good bit of freedom. Most of the profit I make goes back into cake tools :) But it's nice that when that random friend of a friend's cousin wants a cake I can charge for it appropriately and make some extra money. That's the main reason I got legal and went into business. I still do a good bit of cakes for friends and family for free, but the paying customers help subsidize them!