Lace Cake Help! Please!

Decorating By Meltyd Updated 5 Apr 2013 , 10:34pm by Poshcakes

Meltyd Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Meltyd Posted 1 Apr 2013 , 6:20pm
post #1 of 13

AI'm doing a lace wedding cake at the end of this month, and I have no idea where to start. She doesn't want Cornelli lace, she wants something "delicate and elegant" her theme is vintage. I've looked at stencils but they all seem to be really bulky, my hands tend to shake a bit so I'm afraid of free handing it, but i could follow wa pattern scratched onto the cake. I've never done this before, please help! I've gotten in way over my head!

12 replies
Baking Queen Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Baking Queen Posted 1 Apr 2013 , 6:38pm
post #2 of 13

AHhmm well If you don't want to pipe it on the cake(there are a bunch of utube videos on it if you type it in) you can always get edible lace especially for cakes. It looks gorgeous too! Here's one of the many links I'd look at: http://www.sugarveil.com/mat/ Hope I helped and good luck!

TheSugarMice Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TheSugarMice Posted 1 Apr 2013 , 6:56pm
post #3 of 13

You could try using Sugarveil? or check our Karen Davies' range of lace moulds that you can use to mould fondant and the wrap around the cake - these give a really realistic lace effect

suzannem5 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
suzannem5 Posted 1 Apr 2013 , 8:19pm
post #4 of 13

Get a piece of real lace and emboss it onto your freshly-covered (sugarpaste/fondant) cake - press it in well with a smoother to give good definition then you can pipe over the markings with royal icing and use a damp paintbrush to stipple it to lose the neat lines.  If you paint over the dried piping with edible lustre it gives a lovely effect.

kazita Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kazita Posted 1 Apr 2013 , 9:01pm
post #5 of 13