Should You Charge Family Members?

Business By Rodriguez-km Updated 17 Mar 2015 , 1:40am by Gingerlocks

Rodriguez-km Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rodriguez-km Posted 27 Mar 2013 , 3:27pm
post #1 of 30

I'm a hobby baker, since last year I've been baking birthday cakes for my family. That's at least one every month, which doesn't bother me at all because I enjoy it plus I get to practice decorating them. But is it okay if I start charging them, maybe just for ingredients?

29 replies
jason_kraft Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jason_kraft Posted 27 Mar 2013 , 3:30pm
post #2 of 30

AFrom a legal perspective, the risk is minimal if you only charge family members and do not advertise, hand out business cards, create a business web site, or mention selling cakes on your personal web site or FB page.

Rodriguez-km Posted 27 Mar 2013 , 3:35pm
post #3 of 30

Oh I see, thanks for your reply!

-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 27 Mar 2013 , 3:35pm
post #4 of 30

i don't even see a legal risk at all myself

no more than babysitting for them or cut their hair or help paint the living room or pick up them up on the side of the road if their car breaks down or any other thing families do for each other

jmo

jason_kraft Posted 27 Mar 2013 , 3:46pm
post #5 of 30

AThe biggest risk I could see would be if a well-meaning family member or a guest at the family member's event starts spreading the word about OP's cakes and encouraging others to buy them. If word reaches the health dept (which is unlikely) they could issue a C&D.

Of course OP would also need to record the cash from family members as hobby income on their tax return, failure to do this could cause penalties in the (again unlikely) case of an audit.

Rodriguez-km Posted 27 Mar 2013 , 3:49pm
post #6 of 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by jason_kraft