What To Do If A Customer Just Doesn't 'like' Your Cake Taste?

Decorating By missmersh Updated 19 Apr 2013 , 3:19pm by kikiandkyle

missmersh Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
missmersh Posted 25 Mar 2013 , 2:42am
post #1 of 33

I delivered a cake yesterday and the client complained last night that the cake wasn't done.  Well, after several back and forths...the determination that the cake was done....she just thought it didn't taste good.  I did a cake for her a year ago with no problem.  But it just seems like she is trying to get her money back because she decided it didn't taste good enough to her.  Is this a valid request on her part?  I have been doing this for 13 years and NEVER, not ONCE have had someone complain about the taste.  I level all my cakes too, so, I knew the center was done.  Which is why I was able to let her know that her original complaint wasn't valid. 

It has been raining here all week and I think the weather may have kept the cake from rising as much as it normally does, but that is beyond my control.  I already caved and said I would refund a LARGE portion of the money.  But I think she just has buyer's remorse and I wanted to toss it around here.  Please help. 

Also wanted to add that when she placed the order, she asked me if I could make the icing sweeter than last year and I told her I didn't know if I could.  Well, part of her complaint today was that the cake was too sweet.  ????? 

32 replies
Norasmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Norasmom Posted 25 Mar 2013 , 2:48am
post #2 of 33

What was her reason for it not tasting good?  Since she knew what it tasted like, she must have eaten it.  I'm not sure I would have offered her a refund, but sometimes it makes sense in the interest of business. 

missmersh Posted 25 Mar 2013 , 3:06am
post #3 of 33