Condensed Version Of The "best Tips" Thread!

Decorating By snowbunny86 Updated 25 Mar 2013 , 8:40pm by snowbunny86

snowbunny86 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
snowbunny86 Posted 24 Mar 2013 , 5:08pm
post #1 of 7

So I'm a newbie caker and stumbled across the 'tips' thread the other day and figured since I was making a list for myself, I could post it for everyone (33 pages is a LOT to read!).  Hopefully I didn't miss any, feel free to post any if I did!

• upside down smoothing

• Pressing down on cakes/using weights to level cakes right out of the oven (apparently just placing them upside down on a counter top will work too!)
  • Using a spackle knife/bench scraper to smooth icing
  • Using vanilla/caramel coffee mate to flavour cakes

• Marshmallow fondant (MMF)

• using cocoa powder in place of some icing sugar. Then you just need a small amount of black food dye!

• putting fondant/gum paste in the oven with JUST the light on so it dries out faster

• Dyeing MMF while in the melted marshmallow stage-WAY easier!

• using Hershey's kisses for rose centres (instead of the 'blop' in the centre)

• red kool aid for red food coloring

• If you forgot to bring your eggs at room temperature, just submerge them in tepid/warm water in 2-3 minutes.

• If you forgot to bring the butter to room temperature, use a grater with large holes and grate it just like cheese

• cupcake cakes (I couldn't find a good thread discussing how to do this, if anyone could post a link that'd be great!)

• cake extender

• Chocolate transfers (again, I couldn't find a good tutorial/thread on this so any help would be great!)

• Cake dressing so your cake releases easily from the pan

• equal parts Crisco, flour, oil mixed together and then applied to you baking pan using a pastry brush (make sure to get the corners)

• Melvira smoothing method

• Introduction to americolor

• using a silicone pad (silpad?) to roll out fondant so it doesn't stick! Can also use vinyl