What Recipe Do I Use For A Birthday Cake??

Decorating By footiemad Updated 16 Mar 2013 , 9:43pm by suzannem5

footiemad Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
footiemad Posted 13 Mar 2013 , 7:09pm
post #1 of 3

Hi there

I am a newbie on here so I hope I am in the right place!
I have been making Cupcakes for a while and I have amazing recipes for these and can manage them fine, but when it comes to bigger cakes I struggle! I have a really good choc cake recipe I use and a good victoria sponge recipe but what do I use for a Birthday cake?!
Is it a maderia cake or a victoria sponge cake people use?? I have tried the maderia for a 8" square cake, but was really dense and stodgy. I have also tried my vanilla cupcake recipe but obviously upping the ingredients but still it was stodgy. How can I make a bigger cake, light and spongy??

If anyone can help me that would be fantastic, or at least point me in the right direction.

Thank you in advance laughing

2 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 14 Mar 2013 , 12:55pm
post #2 of 3

well there's a bit of a language difference-- i never make madeira nor victoria sponge but for light and fluffy i love sylvia weinstock's yellow cake recipe--and it's all in cups rather than weight

it comes out almost white because i leave off a couple egg yolks but you can add them in too and it's still not truly a yellow color at all

then i use a quarter cup more cake flour than it calls for (i typo-ed the recipe when i copied it once and it works great)

and i do not whip the egg whites separately--i just add them info the beautifully creamed sugar and butter

http://homecooking.about.com/od/cakerecipes/r/blc13.htm

just an idea for you

suzannem5 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
suzannem5 Posted 16 Mar 2013 , 9:43pm
post #3 of 3