Nature/forest Themed Cake

Decorating By TalTalK Updated 10 Mar 2013 , 7:09am by TalTalK

TalTalK Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TalTalK Posted 4 Mar 2013 , 12:26pm
post #1 of 7

Hi all!

I am a new member to the forum, but have been reading here for a while, ever since I started working with fondant.

I would like to make a cake for my good friend's birthday, and she loves nature and travel - does anyone have any ideas of what I can do (that isn't too complicated)? It would be one tier, so the really awesome ones that have a road going down the side won't really work.

I am fairly new to fondant, so not TOO complicated (though anything that has a tutorial or especially a template works). Any cakes that are in the theme are also welcome.

Thanks so much in advance!

6 replies
suzannem5 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
suzannem5 Posted 4 Mar 2013 , 12:39pm
post #2 of 7

For nature you could do a side design of cut-out trees and bushes - on this cake the trees were a mixture of using cutters and cut freehand, the bushes were clouds cutter from Patchwork Cutters aeroplane set:

You could also use the Patchwork Cutters aeroplane to represent the travel theme on the top of the cake - this cake was for a girl who loved Irish dancing and wanted to be an air stewardess but shows the cutters used:

GixxerChick Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
GixxerChick Posted 4 Mar 2013 , 12:45pm
post #3 of 7

To make pine trees....shape dark green gumpaste / fondant into a small cone shape.....using a small pair of cuticle scissors, make "snips" all around and up n down the cone.....wallah...a pine tree with a branch-like appearance. 

Crazy-Gray Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Crazy-Gray Posted 4 Mar 2013 , 2:09pm
post #4 of 7