Help!!!

Decorating By mrsdeje Updated 4 Mar 2013 , 5:40am by mrsdeje

mrsdeje Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mrsdeje Posted 4 Mar 2013 , 5:03am
post #1 of 6

Hey all! I'm new to cake decorating and have done a few practice cakes for an upcoming event, but every time I lay the fondant and smooth it out I can see the lines separating my layers. As if that's not bad enough the top of my cake never stays completely flat! So my question is, how much buttercream am I supposed to apply? Should I leave it just a crumb coat? If not, how much buttercream needs to be on the final coat? Or what do you think I'm doing wrong? Please help! 

Thanks! icon_biggrin.gif

Melissa 

5 replies
LovelyCakes4Us Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LovelyCakes4Us Posted 4 Mar 2013 , 5:11am
post #2 of 6

AI normally crumb coat freeze for 15 minutes, final coat freeze for a half hour then use a clean paint brush, brush on some water (a little) then apply my fondant. I normally use a good amount to my second coat to make things look flawless when applying the fondant.

Also try laying a piece of tile on top of your cake for a hour or two to help with bulging. Then apply fondant. Hth

LovelyCakes4Us Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LovelyCakes4Us Posted 4 Mar 2013 , 5:11am
post #3 of 6

AI normally crumb coat freeze for 15 minutes, final coat freeze for a half hour then use a clean paint brush, brush on some water (a little) then apply my fondant. I normally use a good amount to my second coat to make things look flawless when applying the fondant.

Also try laying a piece of tile on top of your cake for a hour or two to help with bulging. Then apply fondant. Hth

mrsdeje Posted 4 Mar 2013 , 5:19am
post #4 of 6