Pricing In Australia

Business By Leishira Updated 12 Mar 2013 , 2:03am by Leishira

Leishira Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Leishira Posted 4 Mar 2013 , 4:02am
post #1 of 10

Just wondering how Australians work out pricing for their cakes.

Is it a combination of making back the cost of all your ingredients, then adding on labour?

Do you have a standard per slice, type of system?

I'm just starting out charging for friends of friends and I am finding it difficult to work out how best to price. I don't want to over/undercharge, and want to know that I'm getting what is reasonable for the time and effort that goes in to each cake.

Any ideas, thoughts and advice would be great.

9 replies
baking-mama Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
baking-mama Posted 8 Mar 2013 , 8:01am
post #2 of 10

AWould love the Answer too! Have a few people starting to order cakes. Never sold one before! I have no idea.

If the price is by slice, how do I know how many slices in my cakes?

cazza1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cazza1 Posted 8 Mar 2013 , 8:16am
post #3 of 10

I don't sell cakes but I have known quite a few ladies who do.  Don't know how they work out their price but I do know that none of them have ever charged by the slice.  I had never heard of this until I joined this site.

CWR41 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CWR41 Posted 8 Mar 2013 , 6:30pm
post #4 of 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by baking-mama 

If the price is by slice, how do I know how many slices in my cakes?

http://www.wilton.com/cakes/making-cakes/baking-wedding-cake-2-inch-pans.cfm

CAKIE BAKIE Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cazza1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cazza1 Posted 9 Mar 2013 , 5:07am
post #6 of 10