Need Help Pricing A Cake

Business By TwistedChefT Updated 3 Mar 2013 , 4:59pm by DeliciousDesserts

TwistedChefT Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TwistedChefT Posted 2 Mar 2013 , 9:12pm
post #1 of 11

Hi,

I am new to selling cakes so not familiar with what the prices should be. Someone want's this cake for her daughter's 2nd birthday. How much would you charge for the cake with and without the dolls on top?

I would really appreciate any help. Thank you :)

10 replies
TwistedChefT Posted 2 Mar 2013 , 9:32pm
post #2 of 11

forgot to mention it would be a 12" round chocolate and vanilla layered cake.

DeliciousDesserts Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DeliciousDesserts Posted 2 Mar 2013 , 10:35pm
post #3 of 11

AThat will depend on your costs & your regional market.

There are several price matrixs available here at cc. Also read tips on pricing cakes at the cake boss software site.

Remember to check state laws regarding legal restrictions of selling food items in your area.

LovelyCakes4Us Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LovelyCakes4Us Posted 2 Mar 2013 , 11:44pm
post #4 of 11

I would charge 100.00 with out the toppers, 10.00 per topper HTH!

itsacake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
itsacake Posted 3 Mar 2013 , 3:29am
post #5 of 11

It certainly varies widely.  I don't copy cakes exactly, but for a similar cake of 56 servings I'd charge $560.00 with the toppers and delivery or $$392.00 for the cake without the toppers and just some additional flowers and pearls on top.

TwistedChefT Posted 3 Mar 2013 , 6:24am
post #6 of 11

Thank you for your kind answers.

DeliciousDesserts: I have looked at the legal requirements and a lot of the pricing structures and what others are charging in the area. I was just a little confused by it all and just wanted to get an idea as to what others might charge as I was trying come to an answer using the pricing calculators.