First Fondant Cake

Decorating By cmc811 Updated 11 Apr 2013 , 11:24am by iCookiBake

cmc811 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cmc811 Posted 10 Feb 2013 , 10:22pm
post #1 of 18

Hi all,

I'm new to this and am just experimenting with different techniques. I don't make cakes to sell as its just a hobby at this point. I love making cakes for my kids! I had never made fondant or ever worked with it so I thought I would give it a try. Here is the result:

Not too bad, but certainly not perfect! My main question is what timeline do you use when working with fondant? When you roll it out and cut out shape decorations, do you let them dry before moving them? I was having a hard time peeling them off my mat (covered with Crisco) without the shape becoming distorted. Also, I tried rolling the big piece used to cover the cake on the rolling pin but then I couldn't unroll it onto the cake. It didn't stick to the rolling pin but it did stick to itself.

Honestly, nothing went right with this cake from the start so I'm happy with how it turned out, but it took forever! I'm looking for tips and tricks that lead to a better finished product in a shorter time frame.

17 replies
Izzy Sweet Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Izzy Sweet Posted 10 Feb 2013 , 10:43pm
post #2 of 18

I am so new to fondant I can not offer any suggestions, but I wanted to say that looks so cute..i love it

Ducky316 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Ducky316 Posted 10 Feb 2013 , 10:52pm
post #3 of 18

Your cake looks adorable!!!

My advice to you is not to use crisco on your mat...Use a bit of powdered sugar, or cornstarch. Also, if you're serious about getting into fondant I suggest you check into "The Mat" made by sweetwise. Here's a link to one of their instructional videos...

It's the BEST INVESTMENT I have ever made!!!

DulceTona Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DulceTona Posted 10 Feb 2013 , 11:03pm
post #4 of 18