My First Wedding Cake!

Decorating By kkmcmahan Updated 6 Feb 2013 , 2:50pm by denetteb

kkmcmahan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kkmcmahan Posted 5 Feb 2013 , 8:36pm
post #1 of 18

I am so excited! My nephew is getting married this summer (end of June) and I will be making their cake as a gift to them. As I have very little experience (none for wedding cakes) I will be making 1-2 cakes per week between now and then to practice my techniques.

I have made a list of questions to send them.  Are there other questions I should be asking so that I don't have any surprises?

1. How many people will attend reception?

2. Will the cake be the only dessert?

3. Will they be saving the top layer for 1st yr anniversary? (1-3 used to determine number of servings)

4. Do they want a traditional cake, cup cakes, cake centerpieces or some combination?

5. What cake flavor(s)?

6. Will they want BC or fondant?

7. Will they want particular fillings?

8. Are there food allergies I need to be concerned with?

9. Will there be a cake topper (and if so I will need to know dimensions and weight)?

10. What colors are they using in their wedding?

11. What flowers will the be using?

12. I've asked for a picture of the wedding dress once it's picked out and a close up of the pattern.

13. How much time will there be between the ceremony and the reception (since I'll be at both)?

14. Do they want a special knife for cutting the first piece?

Additional questions regarding the venue:

15. Will they allow a cake made by hobbyist or does it need to be from a licensed company?

16. Will the cake have a 360 degree view or on a table against a wall?

17. Is the venue on the first floor or are there stairs/elevator?

18. What is the earliest the cake can be delivered?

20. Where is the cake stored until the reception (such as in a cooler)?

21. Will the venue take care of cutting the cake?

22. Does the venue supply dessert plates and utensils?