Estimated Number Of Servings For "walk-Through" Reception?? Help!

Business By SaltCakeCity Updated 4 Feb 2013 , 12:45am by SaltCakeCity

SaltCakeCity Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SaltCakeCity Posted 3 Feb 2013 , 7:38pm
post #1 of 4

I just posted this on my local Utah ICES Chapter page but I thought I'd get some advice on CC as well!

I'm relatively new to Utah but I'm REALLY new to the idea of a walk-through reception where there's no assigned seating and the couple invites everyone (everyone in their churches, everyone in their neighborhood, all coworkers, etc). Some of my brides have told me they're sending out over 500 invites with no real "RSVP" since it's not a "sit-down" dinner. I've delivered wedding cakes to venues and have seen lines of guests going out of the building and wondered what the heck was going on. I've learned it's a line to shake the bride & groom's hands! How interesting! Anyway, I haven't been to many weddings like this as a guest so I don't really know how to estimate number of servings for this phenomenon.

Let's imagine they're expecting 300 guests at the "walk through" reception (no sit down dinner). How many servings would you suggest?

What do you suggest when it's a walk through PLUS added side desserts (like brownies, cookies, etc)?

I'd like to expand the question to sit down receptions as well. If they are expecting 200 guests to be seated and eating, how many servings do you suggest they order? I've been getting a lot of people saying "Not everyone will stick around that long" or "Not everyone eats cake" and I totally understand that but I'm never sure what to suggest. I always suggest cutting the cake right after the couple is done eating to make sure the cake does get eaten but I'd love your thoughts on answers to those questions!

Thanks everyone!

Jennifer

Salt Cake City

3 replies
DeliciousDesserts Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DeliciousDesserts Posted 3 Feb 2013 , 8:10pm
post #2 of 4