How Do I Get Really Shiny Gold And Silver Color???

Decorating By chelipao Updated 9 Jan 2014 , 8:45am by ImTopsyTurvy

chelipao Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chelipao Posted 23 Jan 2013 , 6:15pm
post #1 of 24

Hi guys, I am just getting started in the cake decorating industry, and I found this picture (see 1st photo). Do you guys know how to get that really shiny gold color? That almost looks like metal. Also, do you know hoy to make the stripes so perfect? Especially I have trouble when they are horizontal like the other picture. I’ll appreciate any information you can give me. Thank you!!

23 replies
Pam1976 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Pam1976 Posted 23 Jan 2013 , 7:09pm
post #2 of 24

The gold is done with edible gold leaf.   

Texan Aunt Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texan Aunt Posted 23 Jan 2013 , 7:10pm
post #3 of 24

Hmmm...the first photo almost looks like they used foil on it. Or as ridiculous as it may seem gold leaf. I shudder to think of how you'd paint that, and  I know of no spray that will get a gold that bright.

On the second photo with the lines, how I usually do that is rolling out my fondant sometimes 50/50, then cut it with a zacto or other sharp knife and a ruler. If you let it dry for 2-3 minutes (depends upon humidity where you are) and then roll it up on a small rolling pin or other small oval object, you can just run it around the cake and with practice it will turn out pretty even. A good way to try this for the first time is to do a bottom border on a cake that looks like a ribbon.

Pam1976 Posted 23 Jan 2013 , 7:11pm
post #4 of 24

Also, for tips for applying stripes to a cake, visi thttp://jessicakesblog.blogspot.com/  She has some tutorials on applying stripes to cakes.  Good luck!!

Pam1976 Posted 23 Jan 2013 , 7:16pm
post #5 of 24