post #1 of 13

I am still new to the pricing of cakes.
How much would you charge for this cake??Baby Cake

I used 2.5 lb of wilton fondant, two 8'' chocolate cakes, buttercream icing

12 replies
jason_kraft Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jason_kraft Posted 21 Jan 2013 , 8:14pm
post #2 of 13

AThe best way to set a price is to look at your costs (ingredients + labor + per-order overhead) then add a markup for your profit to be in line with market prices in your area.

Hindy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Hindy Posted 21 Jan 2013 , 8:24pm
post #3 of 13

Thanks so much! Could you give me a ball park figure of how much you would buy such a cake for?

jason_kraft Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jason_kraft Posted 21 Jan 2013 , 8:33pm
post #4 of 13

AFor a single tier 8" round with those decorations we would charge in the $120-150 range, but since every market is different I'm afraid that doesn't really help you.

mndart Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mndart Posted 21 Jan 2013 , 9:18pm
post #5 of 13

I live in a relatively small town. People are on a tight budget and it is hard to get them to pay much for even the best quality cakes. I have learned that people are going to say yes and people are going to say no. Don't let your feelings get involved with your business (that advice was free of charge icon_wink.gif). I generally (there are always exceptions) charge 2.00/serving for buttercream and 2.50/serving for fondant. I know there are people who charge a lot more, but that is my base. Hope this helps!

Ali3971 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Ali3971 Posted 21 Jan 2013 , 10:24pm
post #6 of 13

Anywhere from $75 - $125 depending on what the market of your area is like.

howsweet Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
howsweet Posted 21 Jan 2013 , 11:10pm
post #7 of 13