Achieving Uniform/correct Thickness For Baby Shower Cookies???

Baking By MaurorLess67 Updated 11 Feb 2013 , 2:06pm by sfandm

MaurorLess67 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MaurorLess67 Posted 7 Jan 2013 , 3:21pm
post #1 of 13

Hi everyone-

As I have not made many cookies- I have a few questions-  I am making cookie favors for my cousins baby shower--

1) How thick should they be? -- I have NO idea about what is a good thickness?

2) How can I roll out NFS to the correct uniform thickness

3)-- I plan on decorating cookies-- about 50 total- with Royal and fondant-- how far in advance can I make and bag up the cookies-- I would like to be done the weekend before- but I'm not sure with using some 2 and 3d decorations in fondant- bows, butterflies etc- how will they hold up in the bags??

If anyone responds can you be very specific with your answers-as I said I am new to cookies-

Thank you in advance --

Mo

12 replies
lilmissbakesalot Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lilmissbakesalot Posted 7 Jan 2013 , 3:38pm
post #2 of 13

The easiest way is to roll your dough out between two dowels of the same thickness.  This way you have a guide and won't apply too much pressure in some areas and not enough in others.

I like 3/8" for cookies.  It's a nice thickness without being too thick.

-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 7 Jan 2013 , 3:55pm
post #3 of 13

i put down a sheet of aluminum foil sprayed with canned fat

i have a collection of flat rulers two of each kind (not the curvey topped ones flat on both sides)

using a matching set of rulers--so they are the same depth--

i place one of each on either side of the foil

placed so they are not any wider than the length of my rolling pin

plop the dough on the foil

roll roll roll so then the dough can't get any shorter/thinner than the ruler on either side

if i need it thicker i lay on another set of rulers