Fondant Help

Decorating By dcarulli Updated 7 Jan 2013 , 4:15am by oven lover

dcarulli Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dcarulli Posted 5 Jan 2013 , 1:15am
post #1 of 6

I am planning on making 2 princess doll cakes for my middle daughter's birthday.  One will wear pink and the other purple like the new Barbie Princess and the pop star movie.  I would like to use fondant but I am hesitant because of the taste.  Any suggestions on how to make packaged fondant taste better or what brand of fondant taste better.  I am a novice so I am scared to make my own. Thanks in advance

5 replies
cazza1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cazza1 Posted 5 Jan 2013 , 1:21am
post #2 of 6

I use Satin Ice nowadays.  Strange but here in Australia a lot of people love to eat fondant.  And I have never met a kid who doesn't like it. But we were brought up with it and buttercream as an all over icing is fairly new here.

trebakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
trebakes Posted 5 Jan 2013 , 1:27am
post #3 of 6

Wilton's fondant is known for being easy to work with but not very tasty. I suggest you buy it (with a coupon) and knead a little flavoring and buttercream into it. Good luck

newbaker55 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
newbaker55 Posted 5 Jan 2013 , 2:46am
post #4 of 6

I'm not a pro, but here's what I've learned by trial and error:

I use Lorann flavorings (the kind used for candy-making) and knead into the fondant. They're strong so start with just a bit 'til you get the taste you're looking for.

I've used Satin Ice, Wilton, Fondx & Fondx Elite for details in the past. The Fondx Elite smells and tastes like mixed berries. To me, it seems to have a better mouth feel than the others but is a bit soft to work with...and pricey.