First Proper Wedding Cake Order

Decorating By hd14 Updated 6 Jan 2013 , 11:20am by hd14

hd14 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hd14 Posted 3 Jan 2013 , 10:56pm
post #1 of 7

AHi everyone. I'm a newbie. I have just started my business for a year now. A client has booked me to make her wedding cake in april. I've done a wedding cake for a friend before. But this is a real customer, so i'm pretty nervous abt it. I want to know what are the steps in taking a wedding cake order. Do u sit with the client first, and give them a tasting platter with various flavours of cake? What about the quote? Do u normally give quotes of different designs or just ask them to choose the design? Then prior to the wedding day, do u get in touch with the reception centre? On the day, who does the cutting at the kitchen? Yourself or the kitchen staff? Do you provide your own knife/spatula/cake stand? Sorry for many questions. But i really need to learn lots :) TIA...xx

6 replies
SaltCakeCity Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SaltCakeCity Posted 4 Jan 2013 , 4:19am
post #2 of 7

Hey HD14! Congratulations! I'll try to answer some of these questions from what I do but ultimately, it's something you'll come to learn on your own and do what feels and works best for you since everyone does it a little differently :)

- Do u sit with the client first, and give them a tasting platter with various flavours of cake?

I do cake tastings as the last thing before I finalize the cake contract. This has helped me weed out people who are just trying to taste as much free cake as possible. We figure out design, date, venue, servings, etc. all via phone or email before i meet them. If they're willing to put in the work for the whole order, I figure they're serious about ordering their cake.

- What about the quote? Do u normally give quotes of different designs or just ask them to choose the design?