Cleanning Your Decorator Tips

Decorating By shadowgypsie Updated 24 Jan 2014 , 8:25pm by MBalaska

shadowgypsie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shadowgypsie Posted 23 Jan 2007 , 11:33pm
post #1 of 28

As a Wilton Instructor I have had several of my students tell me they heard you can remove Buttercream frosting grease from your tips with vinigar, DON'T DO IT! Using harsh products on your tips will remove the protective coating that seperates the base metal from your food. When this happens you must discard the tips. Also some Dishwasher Liquids that contain vinigar or bleach will ruin your tips. I always tell my students to hand wash their tips in hot water and Dawn dihswashing liquid.

Washing your tips is a pain I know, but better to be safe, so hand wash your tips It's also cost effective.

Wilton will not replace any tips that have been damaged by vinigar or bleach.

27 replies
nadineelyce Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nadineelyce Posted 24 Jan 2007 , 3:19am
post #2 of 28

Well thank you!
I never planned on using vinager, but I'm sure people have!
Good thing to know

fronklowes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
fronklowes Posted 24 Jan 2007 , 3:25am
post #3 of 28

That's so interesting to hear because my Wilton instructor told us to use a bleach/water solution to clean ours. I don't, though, I use Dawn, too.

TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 24 Jan 2007 , 3:26am
post #4 of 28

I boil my tips in how soapy water, replacing the water 2 to 3 times. In the last boil I have been adding a little vinagar to the tips and haven't seen a problem. Mine are discolored (mainly because I have a bad habit of leaving them sitting in water) but the discoloration has not affected them in any way.

korensmommy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
korensmommy Posted 24 Jan 2007 , 3:29am
post #5 of 28