Joshua Russell On Craftsy?

Decorating By ThorntonCakes Updated 26 Dec 2012 , 2:37am by costumeczar

ThorntonCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ThorntonCakes Posted 24 Dec 2012 , 12:26pm
post #1 of 8

ASo I found craftsy through this site like many others, I watched Joshua Russell's Into to Modern Buttercream which is available for anyone. I have to say Im honestly not impressed with what I saw, but I continued on. After watching some more I went to make his buttercream. Keep in mind I have been doing this for almost 7 years alone, ( I know others have more years on me but 7 years is a long time!) This buttercream turned into a Kool whip, very light a fluffy. My mother and fiancé who have tested everything i've ever put together said they liked my personal recipe much better and that it had no flavor!! But I proceeded on, I had my tiers prepped and ready for a crumb coat. I kid you not this icing virtually melted on the cake right in front of me! I was flabbergasted!!! My cakes had cooled in the fridge for almost 2 hours so it was at the right temperature. Joshua said there was no wait time to let the buttercream set. Your supposed to make it and BAM! decorate that cake!! Needless to say this was not necessarily a disaster but a huge set back, I ended up throwing the buttercream away and using my personal recipe. Im just flabbergasted that a celebrity cake decorators recipe was a complete flop! To me thats unheard of! I do not live in a warm climate at all. I live in Wisconsin lol and its the middle of winter and my home is not warm. I can't figure it out. I found myself making batch after batch of his recipe and I just don't get it. Im worried to buy any other class by him because I wasn't initially impressed with what he was saying or explaining and then the buttercream. Sheesh!! Maybe I just don't personally prefer him? Im Not quite sure yet lol. What are you thoughts?

7 replies
imagenthatnj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile