3D Vehicle Cakes??

Decorating By Mae_mom Updated 9 Dec 2012 , 4:21pm by FullHouse

Mae_mom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mae_mom Posted 3 Dec 2012 , 12:29pm
post #1 of 8

I've been asked to do a vehicle cake for a wedding (groom's cake).  I'm no expert by any means when it comes to cake making but I seem to have a lot of trouble with vehicles. 

Would anyone happen to have any tips or ideas or "how to's" for a vehicle cake? This will be for a muscle car.  I'm not sure what size pans to use to make it best to work with, how many, etc.  Size wise, the bride says it'll just be for him but she also doesn't want it to be too tiny. 

I don't know why but vehicle cakes freak me out sometimes. :p

Thanks for any help you can give!!!!  :)

7 replies
alene Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
alene Posted 3 Dec 2012 , 1:58pm
post #2 of 8

I know what you mean about getting freaked out when it comes to making car cakes.  1st thing I would do is google tutorals on how to make a car cake or youtube has a lot of tutorials.  You can buy the race car pan and carve it in the shape you want.  I usually may the wheels out of rct. 

Crazy-Gray Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Crazy-Gray Posted 3 Dec 2012 , 4:18pm
post #3 of 8

My go-to is http://www.the-blueprints.com/ you can find most cars there and you can just work from the basic 'blueprint' without having to buy it.

A nice touch I learned after doing several cars (and I wish I could go back and do it for all my past car cakes!) is to make a thick card cakeboard (covered in cake board foil) exactly the shape of your car, glue an inch or so of styrofoam to the base and glue that to a propper cake board; this creates a nice gap under your car (it helps to cover the sides of the styrofoam with black fondant.

last wee tip- crumb coat with ganache, one rough coat and another once the 1st has set- this will make all your carved edges sharper :)

HTH 

venuscakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile